The State Gov’t announced in December 2023 significant proposals which could dump significant development in Pittwater including Newport

Make a submission before 23rd February 2024 – see below at the foot of this post

Key changes proposed for the Northern Beaches

  • Allowing two dwellings on the same lot, also known as dual occupancy, in all R2 low density residential zones across the Northern Beaches on properties with an area of greater than 450sqm and width of 12m.
  • Allowing many properties over 500sqm within 800m walking distance of most of our village and town centres to develop medium density housing. Specifically, in R2 low density zones residential areas within 800m walking distance of land zoned E2 Commercial Centre, E1 Local Centre, or MU1 Mixed Use, the changes would allow terraces and manor houses on properties with an area of 500sqm, and townhouses on areas of 600sqm. 
  • Allowing Residential Flat Buildings and shop top housing up to 21 metres (7 storeys) in R3 medium density residential zones that are within 400m walking distance of most of our village and town centres – land zoned E2 Commercial Centre, E1 Local Centre, or MU1 Mixed Use. 
  • Allowing Residential Flat Buildings up to 16 metres (5 storeys) in R3 medium density residential zones that are between 400m and 800m walking distance of most of our village and town centres – land zoned E2 Commercial Centre, E1 Local Centre, or MU1 Mixed Use

Under these proposed changes, apartment blocks within 400m of Narrabeen Town Centre, Warriewood Square, Mona
Vale Town Centre, Newport and Avalon Beach Villages could permit six storey and 21m apartment towers.
Apartment blocks within 400m and 800m of those locations will become 16m apartment towers. The
changes represent a near doubling of current heights.

The Gov’t plans are on public exhibition until 23rd February 2024. Please familiarise yourself with the details and, if you agree this is not the future you, as a resident, want for Pittwater – and Newport, in particular – make a submission;

write to our State member and the Premier and all Ministers associated with Local Government, Planning, the Environment. 

Do these proposals not set out to destroy the natural beauty and healthy coastal environment, which have always been the attraction for families to want to live here?

Read the proposals here

Newport Centre Land Zoning Map

Rory Amon press release re proposals

Check all Newport Planning zones and explanations

Northern Beaches Council response to proposed reforms

NRA Submission – read here

********

Make a submission

Some ideas re objections from members

Click here to make your submission

Addresses for your 2024 councillors

‘Sue Heins’ <sue.heins@northernbeaches.nsw.gov.au>;

 ‘Michael Gencher’ <michaelgencher@gmail.com>;

 ‘Miranda Korzy’ <miranda.korzy@northernbeaches.nsw.gov.au>; Karina.Page@northernbeaches.nsw.gov.au;

 ‘Michael Regan’ <michael.regan@northernbeaches.nsw.gov.au>;

Georgia.Ryburn@northernbeaches.nsw.gov.au;

Bianca.Crvelin@northernbeaches.nsw.gov.au;

Candy.Bingham@northernbeaches.nsw.gov.au;

David.Walton@northernbeaches.nsw.gov.au;

Jose.Menano-Pires@northernbeaches.nsw.gov.au;

Kristyn.Glanville@northernbeaches.nsw.gov.au;

Ruth.Robins@northernbeaches.nsw.gov.au;

Sarah.Grattan@northernbeaches.nsw.gov.au;

Stuart.Sprott@northernbeaches.nsw.gov.au;

‘Vincent De Luca OAM’ <Vincent.DeLuca@northernbeaches.nsw.gov.au>;