

Newport Residents Association Inc.

PO Box 1180 Newport Beach NSW 2106 President - Gavin Butler (gebutler@aapt.net.au) 0409 395 102 Hon. Secretary – (wendydunnet@gmail.com) 0418161074 Acting Treasurer - Kyle Hill 0412 221 962 www.newport.org.au

Minutes of Annual General Meeting

Held 15th December 2020 at Newport Community Centre

Meeting commenced at 7.00pm

Members & guests present: President Treasurer Secretary: Committee members: As per attendance sheet Gavin Butler Kyle Hill Wendy Dunnet Peter Middleton, Sue Young, Glenn Moore

Apologies: Sue Young, M.Peschardt, Glenn Moore,

President's welcome to all present:

Gavin Butler welcomed members and guests, Glen Borg & Rudi Valla from Newport Surf Lifesaving Club. He explained that the AGM had been postponed to 15th December 2020 due to COVID-19 restrictions and we would not have an ordinary meeting after the AGM due to it normally being our Christmas end of year get together and we are not allowed under Covid-19 to have drinks etc.in the hall.

Presentation By the Newport Surf Club

Glen Borg, President of the Newport Surf Club, spoke to the meeting on the proposed redevelopment and building improvements for the Club. He summarised the history of the club as well as the extent to which the Club & its members as well as Council and the Community had worked together to prepare the current plans. Rudi Valla, Building Committee Chairman detailed the project. There were many questions and suggestions from the floor. Comments to Council close on 21st January 2021. Members were requested to comment on 'Have Your Say'. The Club is hoping Council will approve the preparation of a DA for the work. Glen presented to Gavin Butler a copy of the 100 year book of the Club.

Approval of Minutes of previous Annual General Meeting held 16th July 2019

Moved: P. Middleton. Seconded: Kyle Hill

President's Report for Year July 2019- June2020: presented by Gavin Butler

Acceptance of President's report. Moved: Selena Webber Seconded: Ron Seldon

Secretary's Report for Year July 2019-June 2020: presented by Wendy Dunnet

Acceptance of Secretary's report. Moved: Peter Middleton Seconded: Greg Ross

Treasurer's Report for Year July 2019-June 2020: presented by Kyle Hill

Balance as at 1st July 2019 was \$1,285.83 and at the 30th June 2020 was \$1,275.63 Acceptance of Treasurer's report. Moved: Di Cook. Seconded: Ron Seldon

All committee positions declared vacant:

Greg Ross acted as chair for nominations and election of 2020-2021 Committee. As there was a single nomination for each of the positions of President, Vice-President, Treasurer and Secretary, the nominees were declared elected. Committee member nominations were within the allowed number with Peter Middleton, Sue Young, and Simon Barlow declared elected.

Newly Elected 2020-2021 Committee:

Gavin Butler - President Kyle Hill - Vice-President Wendy Dunnet - Secretary Glenn Moore- Treasurer Peter Middleton - Committee Sue Young- Committee Simon Barlow - Committee

The Chairman briefly mentioned that he had been involved with a NBC video presentation recently of the proposed council rates harmonisation whereby under the State Government rules all recently amalgamated councils had to adopt a standard rating structure commencing July 2021. Under the proposal all Pittwater residential rates should not vary significantly, the old Warringah residents should get a reduction and Manly residents may get a significant increase. Full details would soon be announced by Council.

Meeting closed approximately 8.25pm

Signed by the Chairman

Gavin Butler